Utter Fail

Standard

As you may remember, Michelle and I have given up artificial sweeteners as of Jan 1, 2010. I was cruising along thinking I’m doing pretty good. I haven’t had any sweeteners in my tea or water. In fact, all I’ve been drinking lately is plain water or unsweetened iced tea. I’ve stayed away from sugar free candy and try to check the ingredients on everything I eat. This morning I was looking at my yogurt and what popped out at me? ASPERTAME. I had looked at the ingredients before but didn’t see it on there. It has High Fructose Corn Syrup, which Michelle has give up but I haven’t just yet, but I guess I just overlooked the aspertame. I’ve been eating it for breakfast this entire week. Guess I need to find a different yogurt. And…back to day one without artificial sweeteners.

I was talking to my Grandmother and explained that I wasn’t using artificial sweeteners when she asked “What about Splenda? It’s supposed to be made from sugar.” Here’s an excerpt that I found here:

“Evidence that there are side effects of Splenda is accumulating little by little. Sucralose has been implicated as a possible migraine trigger, for example. Self-reported adverse reactions to Splenda or sucralose collected by the Sucralose Toxicity Information Center include skin rashes/flushing, panic-like agitation, dizziness and numbness, diarrhea, swelling, muscle aches, headaches, intestinal cramping, bladder issues, and stomach pain. These show up at one end of the spectrum — in the people who have an allergy or sensitivity to the sucralose molecule. But no one can say to what degree consuming Splenda affects the rest of us, and there are no long-term studies in humans with large numbers of subjects to say one way or the other if it’s safe for everyone.”

My response…why not go natural and eat raw sugar instead of something that is processed from sugar and who knows what else. I’ll be very happy if I never have to deal with the side effects listed above!

2 responses »

  1. Sugar free sweetners are the least of my worries for now. I worry that if I do too much and ask too much of myself I will fail again. I’m cutting out my bad food choices one thing at a time. Because of my diabetes I have been ingesting artificial sweetners for 18 years without any problems. My only health problems other than the diabetes are all self inflicted due to my weight. (I warned you I was honest) :)Keep up the good work.

  2. I think it’s a great idea to weed out bad food choices. It’s so much better than going cold turkey! As far as artificial sweeteners go, this was just something I wanted to do for me. If anyone else wants to use them, go for it. I’ve been using them for many years without any side effects that I can see. However, it never hurts to cut out as many chemicals as possible! Now…if I could give up the chocolate maybe I’d start losing more weight!

Whatcha Think?

