1/12/10 – Dear diary…

Standard

Today was a pretty good day up until the dog escaped from the pen and tried to eat the cat. *sigh* Thankfully, there were no traces of blood so I don’t believe the dog got ahold of the cat.

My calorie consumption was pretty good. I only ingested 1375 cals, so I had a 300 calorie deficit. It’s always nice to see a deficit at the end of the day. There was no workout as today was a rest day for me. It was also Biggest Loser day. I enjoy watching the show, but I’m thinking I may stop watching it and just check out the BL site on Wednesdays to see who got the boot. It seems to be the same every season and I’m running short on time, so if I can gain 2 hours by not watching it then maybe that’s what I should do.

I’ve talked about eating clean for a little bit on here. Well, I finally bought Tosca’s book and am looking forward to reading it.

I’ve been thinking about giving up overly processed foods for a while, so I think it’s time to take the plunge. I will start once I get to the grocery store and get the appropriate foods. Normally we do our grocery shopping on Saturdays since we only have 3 1/2 hours between getting home and going to bed. The day I start will be clearly labeled here! Anyone else wanna join me?!

6 responses »

  1. Go for it! Remember it doesn’t have to be all or nothing. I’m definitely trying to eat more “whole” foods.

    That book looks interesting. I’ve added it to my “to-read” list. 🙂

    • Ok, next goal…drop the HFCS! I haven’t had a time to read the book much just yet. What I have read seems pretty good. I don’t agree with some of her comments, but still.

  2. I’m big on the Slow Food movement and I’ve been eating whole foods since before I started to lose weight. I mean, it’s not a cure all because even too much of a good thing, whole foods in this case, will make you fat if you eat too much of it. I gave up fast food four years ago, I never eat at chain restaurants and we buy our meat at a butcher, our fish at a fish monger and our produce from as many local sources as possible. It really makes a huge difference in your diet. You’ll feel the benefits, really. I also do a lot of cooking at home along with my husband which also helps. Anyway, I know I’m babbling so I’ll stop now. It’s good to read your blog and see your enthusiasm, Tammy! I am impressed. 🙂

    • 4 years of no fast food or chain restaurants?!! That is impressive! I think I could give up fast food, but I’m not so sure about chain restaurants. Great job!

  3. The fast food was more difficult because I mean…KFC, fried chicken, I used to just love that. The chain restaurants were easy because I’ve never actually gone to them in the first place. I used to go to lunch at Olive Garden once every six months but I’ve never actually eaten at a Chili’s or Applebey’s (I know I’m spelling that incorrectly *sigh*). I know I’ve mentioned this before, but my husband is a professional chef and has worked in professional kitchens for over 14 years and there is a huge difference in the product that comes into a kitchen of a chain restaurant. Lower quality meats that come premarinated in loads of sodium, tons of corn syrup added to foods, etc. I don’t touch high fructose corn syrup as it is and I don’t want it in all my foods. So really, if you’re going to go “whole foods” which you obviously want to do, you need to ditch the corporate restaurants. I feel like a broken record when I talk about this but I think most people don’t know this stuff and it’s good to know. Oh and congratulations on your latest weight loss!!! That is fantastic!! 🙂

    • Ahh…that’s interesting to hear. I didn’t realize that with the chain restaurants. The main one we go to is Pappasitos. I’m sure we can find a single restaurant that’s just as good somewhere in Houston! You’re right, I don’t want to eat in those place often but I know I’d want to once in a while. I’m migrating to the eat clean model. Since Saturdays are grocery days, I’m going to try to stay away from HFCS when we shop. That’s my next “chemical” to get rid of! Thanks for the congrats! and thanks for the good information. Now I’ll be thinking that every time I pass one of those places.

Whatcha Think?

