Sites of Interest

Standard

Hey Guys and Gals…I wanted to post a couple of interesting sites, or at least interesting to me.

First is a new movie called Fresh. It’s along the same lines as Food, Inc except supposedly more light hearted and cheerful. I haven’t seen Food, Inc yet but I’d like to see it soon. I’ve read (listened to) The Omnivore’s Dilemma. It quite an eye opener and I suspect Food, Inc and Fresh will be too.

The second site is StickK. Michelle, my coworker, pointed this out to me. Basically, to keep you motivated you sign a “contract” with this site and put some money up saying you’ll lose the weight you’ve agreed to. What happens if you don’t meet that deadline? Well, the money you just put up will either go to a charity, an anti-charity (a charity you do not support), or to someone you can’t stand. It’s a rather good concept. I know I’d be pretty motivated if I knew that my money would be going to the people who like to throw trash in my yard (if I knew who they were!). Or, if my money was going to support sweatshops in Vietnam. A lot of people have the company pool of money where the overall weight loser wins the pot. Well, there’s not a whole lot of motivation there unless the amount is great. This site has found a twist to that pot! Check it out…I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to do this or not.

3 responses »

  1. I still haven’t read The Omnivore’s Dilemma. It’s on my short list, though. I expect FRESH will be pretty good but may wait to see if it hits Netflix.

    Yeah Stickk is really interesting! Not sure if I’d do it, but definitely an interesting concept.

  2. My husband and I saw about half of Food, Inc. and were not surprised or shocked by any of it. Most of it was stuff we already knew but it did further cement our determination to stay away from feed lot meats. I do still shop at the grocery store for sundries and some food items but we really do our best to do the majority of our shopping at other sources. Once we found the sources it got easier, it just takes a little research. Stickk sounds interesting too, but probably not something I’d do either. Still…interesting. Thanks for the links!

    • I just found a local place to buy produce and grass fed meat! That’s exciting! I’ve heard a lot about what happens in feed lots and what have you. I’m hoping to get my husband on board with eating/buying local.

Whatcha Think?

