Clean Dinner

Standard

Tonight was my first time to try to cook a “Clean” dinner. It wasn’t too bad. However, it wasn’t all that tasty either! I cooked up four breasts…

Looks like it should be scrumptious, huh..huh?! Well, it wasn’t too bad. I need to figure out how to make sure it doesn’t get too dry. I cooked up some brown rice as well. Both the brown rice and the chicken are organic.

Then for dessert, I had a cup of green grapes and a cap of cherries…mmm…cherries!

I’ve also decided I’m not going to post my daily summary anymore. I’ll just do the weekly summary.

5 responses »

    • It has garlic, rosemary, oregano, basil, thyme and some dried onion. It didn’t taste bad, it just wasn’t as flavorful as I had hoped! It smelled good though…so did the house, until I burned the rice! lol

  1. Hey, Tammy. My husband I were looking at your breasts and discussing them. I know that sounds horribly lewd but you know what I mean. First, we were curious if you’re cooking these in the microwave because there is no browned area on the chicken that we could see. We have a few tips for you that will help. These are some of the things I do at home to cook chicken. I have a meat tenderizer, I use the flat part to pound out the chicken breast until it’s about a half inch flat. Add a little sea salt or kosher salt and some ground pepper. Heat up a saute pan on high heat, put a couple of tablespoons of olive oil (remember, olive oil is good for you) and quickly brown both sides of the pounded chicken. You’re not going to cook the chicken all the way, you’re just searing both sides until they’re medium brown to seal in the juices. Transfer your chicken to a foil covered sheet pan smeared with a scant amount of olive oil if your saute pan isn’t oven proof and finish it off in an oven at 325 for about ten minutes. (Finishing off foods in the oven is a restaurant trick which I also use for perfect fried chicken). If you want to use some herbs or garlic, make sure you use fresh and add them to the chicken before you finish it off in the oven. Adding dried onion, dried herbs and dried garlic is just sucking up all the moisture in your chicken and drying it up further. Avoid the microwave -and- best news ever. If you want to sear that chicken ahead of time, you can. Then when you’re ready to eat it, finish cooking it off in the oven. Remember not to overcook your chicken! If you’re hard-pressed for time, you can also dice batches of fresh onion and store them in a freezer bag in the refrigerator for up to a week and use them as you go along. I do this often also. A garlic press is also an easy way to crush fresh garlic cloves very quickly and fresh garlic is good for you. I hope that wasn’t confusing, sometimes my instructions seem convuluted to me. 😀

    • LOL…It’s a great opening line! I don’t have access to many fresh herbs right now until I can get to the grocery store. I tried growing my own herb garden but i didn’t do very well. None of the seeds produced life! I’ve been putting the chicken in a pan (lightly coated with olive oil) then baking it at 350 for 40 minutes. I haven’t ever seared the sides. I’ll have to try that next time. It would definitely make the chicken look more apealing and less like fish! I’ll also have to get a meat tendorizer to flatten it more…Thanks so much for the advice!

  2. Tammy, I’ve never grown anything from seed, it’s easier for me to buy the plant and grow that. I’m not really a green thumb person but I do grow herbs and in the spring and summer my husband and I grow heirloom tomatoes. I have this little thyme plant in a container on my front porch that has survived through winter so far and I’m -still- using it. It’s a hearty little devil. Thyme is also drought tolerant and a great herb for fish and chicken. Buy a little thyme plant and you’ll probably do quite well with it. I don’t know where you live but the thyme should be hearty for you too. 😀

Whatcha Think?

