On a Roll

Standard

I’ve gone almost all week without eating any overly processed foods. I’ve had some white rice in my bullrito bowl, so I can’t say I haven’t had any processed foods. All I have to say is, it wasn’t that hard! I’m not craving my milky ways (mmm…chocolate)…our receptionist keeps a bowl of candy at the front desk, which I would raid on a normal basis, but I haven’t touched it. I’ve looked at it and thought “1 won’t hurt me” (I won’t lie) but then I turn around and walk away. Last month, I think I would have grabbed three or four and inhaled them in 20 seconds. Then, I would have gone back about 5 minutes later and grabbed more.

Does this mean I have more will power? No, I don’t think so. I don’t believe in will power. It’s just a built in excuse “I just don’t have the will power”. Every day, every meal, is about choices. If you want to get healthy, it’s about making healthier choices. If you feel like crap, that’s probably because you made a poor choice/decision with something you consumed, said, or did. So, I’m getting the eating portion under control and I think I can roll with this!

Now, I just need to start making better choices when it comes to other things in my life!

4 responses »

  1. Oh boy do I love Milky Way bars. I have to say though, that I do eat white rice about once or twice a month. There’s a Pho restaurant in town that we eat at and they have a great stir fried tofu and rice dish that I love. I also keep a container of Ghirardelli dark mini chocolates in my refrigerator. I only eat one and it’s not often. It’s little treats like this that help me feel like I’m living a normal healthy life and not a life where I’m going to constantly feel like I’m punishing myself. I think of it as practicing now how I’m going to be for the rest of my life because you’re absolutely right about everything being a decision.

    • mmm…dark chocolate…I love their chocolate. If you can limit yourself to the amount you’ll eat, then that’s definitely the way to go. A little bit here and there isn’t going to hurt anyone. I have a problem with stopping with one piece of candy! and if I have it in my house, it’s even worse. I think we’re both going to be a lot healthier this year than we were in 2009!

Whatcha Think?

