Gym Day 1…and the aftermath

Standard

As I had mentioned earlier I got a membership to 24 hour fitness. Yesterday was my first day to go and workout. OMG…when did I become such a wimp. Oh, that’s right 6 years ago when I decided I didn’t need to work out so much because the wedding was over. Before the wedding I got to where I could run 2 miles and lift quite a bit of weight. I was probably in the best shape of my life. After the wedding, I still worked out but I would only run 1 mile and call it good. Then I got to where I didn’t do anything. Of course, the weight came back with a vengence. I had some times when I would work out and lose some weight over the past 6 years, but I usually gave up because…well, I don’t know why. Laziness maybe, dissappointment…not sure.

Well, this time I feel like I can be successful… I just need to give myself a kick in the tush when the negative self talk starts seeping in. It all started with my trip to the gym yesterday. At my old gym I felt extremely comfortable. At this gym, I was quite intimidated. My stomach was in knots and I felt like a kid that was just starting school. Logically I know there’s no reason to be nervous…I’m there for me, not all of these other people. However, I had a hard time getting my body to relax.

I hopped on a treadmill (at the end) and started walking. Of course, it was a squeaky treadmill, but I had my headphones in so I didn’t care. It took a little bit to get it to actually start. I had to set up the time and speed and all of this other crap. I just wanted to hit start and go. Finally, the belt started moving and I was off!

I watched people on the weight machines to see how they worked. Then I watched this man that was in about his mid fifties do a jump rope routine that would kick a twenty year old’s butt! It was very impressive.

Once I finished my walk, averaging an 18 minute mile (not good but will get better) I went over to the weight machines and did a couple of reps on the curl and press machines. That was it for the day. I headed back to work and picked up my hubby to head home.

This morning…..well, my arms are quite sore! That’s a good thing though…means I’m doing something right. So, today I’ll go back again after work and get another walk in. I’m hoping by the end of my 12 week fit training I’ll be able to run a mile in 14 minutes!

One response »

  1. Hooray for sore muscles! That was very brave of you. I avoid places where I have to congregate with too many people at once. I know I just made myself sound like a total weirdo and I’m not, I do go out, but going to a gym would freak me out which is another one of the reasons I work out at home.

Whatcha Think?

