Pear Run 5K 2010

Standard

Another Pear Run has come and gone. Mike and I drug our butts out of bed at 4:45 and made it to Independence Park by 6:30. There were quite a few people there, but it is still a rather small race compared to some of the others I’ve been to. I kinda like the smaller races because they don’t feel as intimidating, but I like the bigger ones because you meld into the crowd. My nerves weren’t nearly as bad this time as they were at the Rise & Shine 5K. I think I was just too tired to care much! Of course they had medals for top finishers. Aren’t they cute?

They also had door prizes, but I forgot to stick around to see if my bib number was drawn. We lined up on the road for the National Anthem before the starting line.

The race is a fundraiser for the Pearland Police department so there were several cops on bikes making sure that the runners were well protected from cars (the race took place in a subdivision). Instead of a horn or a gun, the race was started by police car sirens. And we were off!

I did the walk/run intervals for the entire run. Even though it didn’t really increase my speed, it didn’t slow me down much either. I often joke with Mike that my running pace is slower than my walk. Well, it’s not much of a joke because it’s not too far from the truth. I’m a sloooow runner. But, I figure the more I do it the faster I’ll get. This year I finished my 5K in 50:04, last year I signed up for the 5K walk which they didn’t time so I’m not sure what the difference is. Mike ran the 10K this year and finished in 47:00. Talk about impressive! He passed me right before the finish line.

It wasn’t a mutt strutt, but there were one or two dogs getting in on the action!

We waited at the finish line for our friend Michelle to finish her 10K, which was a PR for her! She still had a smile on her face, which is staying something!

While I was waiting, I saw an example of how Michelle can decorate her “beast”!

What do you think Michelle?!

All in all, I was very please with how well the race was organized and the outcome of our performance. I’m not sure if I’ll do the Pear Run again next year since it’s so far away, but more than likely I will. Maybe next year I can do the 10K!

5 responses »

  1. I always say that runners think I’m a jogger and walkers think I’m a runner. Endurance first. Your pace will pick up later.

    Good for you for stepping up to the start line!

    Danie x

Whatcha Think?

