TGIF

Standard

Well, it’s Friday and normally that makes me a very happy person. I have some good news and some bad news. First…the good news:

Yep…I lost a little weight since last week! 2.2lbs to be exact. Things are moving in the right direction so far.

Now, the bad news…One of my favorite women in my family has passed away. My Grandmother had a stroke back at the start of this year and as a result was put into a permanent care facility. She had her ups and downs but lately seemed to be doing a little better (in the grand scheme of things). On Wednesday night she went into Septic Shock and was taken to the emergency room where she crashed. The doctors were able to resuscitate her, but they had to sedate her because she kept trying to pull out the ventilator and other various tubes. Her blood pressure was so low the cuff wouldn’t read it, so they had to put a line in her groin to get an accurate measurement.

The doctor gave her a 50/50 chance of pulling through the attack on her system, but even if she lived she would have some complications. Her children decided it was best to sign a Do Not Resuscitate in the event that her heart went out. She would not want to live on a ventilator, if that’s what you would call it. She held on about 48 hours.

I don’t know which is worse, losing a loved one suddenly and without notice or to know they’re going to pass away and see it coming. Both are hard. Death is hard. I hate that we all watched as my Grandmother slowly wilted away until her heart couldn’t support her any longer. Thankfully, I was able to let her know that I love her. She knew her kids loved her very much as well. She will be greatly missed.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: OMG…WTH? « It's All About Choices

Whatcha Think?

