Today’s the Day

Standard

I started my new diet today. Although, I guess I should call it “nutrition lifestyle” instead of diet. Basically, I’m in the process of cutting out all processed foods, breads, rice, and grains from my diet. Being that I have Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS), I am supposed to be eating a very limited amount of carbs. Most people with PCOS also have insulin resistance (and I do) which can be brought on by a diet high in refined carbs. That describes my diet most of my life. I never liked vegetables, so I never ate them…other than green beans. Cakes, candy, cookies…mmmm…I could live on sweets alone. Unfortunately, the sweets were reeking havoc on my system.

Earlier this year I went to my well woman exam and they did blood work. I just knew it would come back saying I was a type 2 diabetic…or at least a pre-diabetic. My diet had been poor for so long that I figured it was just a matter of time before it caught up with me. Luckily, the results came back A-OK except for a couple of things. My hormone levels were a little out of whack (thanks to PCOS) and I had too much yeast in my system. The doctor had told me to cut out all foods with yeast. Have you seen what all has yeast in it? EVERYTHING!! So, I said “sure sure” and went on about my business.

I had been eating decently this past year. My main concern was watching calories instead of the types of food I was eating. I’m finally starting to realize just how fragile life/health is and that it needs to be taken care of regardless of how “hard” it may be. So, that’s what lead me to where I am today. I’m already craving carbs! It will probably take a while before those cravings are gone, but I’ve kicked the cravings before so I’ll do it again. My main hope is that this will help me get my hormone levels back to normal and in the meantime help me lose some weight as well!

This past weekend I went to Shreveport to celebrate my Grandparents’ (Dad’s side) 59th wedding anniversary. I had a blast. I forgot all about exercise and eating correctly. We had rich, calorie/sugar laden foods and plenty of high calorie drinks. While I probably gained a couple of pounds (after that pecan pie…mmmm) but I’m not going to beat myself up for the way I ate. I knew I was starting the new way of eating today, so I enjoyed my refined carbs while I could.

Whatcha Think?

