Checking in

Standard

Today was the first day of my 1/2 marathon training. I’m both excited and scared. Part of me thinks “What’s the worst that can happen? You get a DNF” and the other part thinks “Just don’t do it. You’re not ready for it yet”. I’m trying my best to stamp down the negative voice and focus on the fact that competing in a 1/2 marathon and giving it my best is more important than whether I finish or not (I have full plans on finishing though!).

I used the treadmill in our garage since we don’t have a good place to walk/run outside around here after dark. I’m following the Penguin’s plan which called for 8 rounds of walking 3 mins/running 1 min. Unfortunately, I started getting shin splints after the second round. I think the problem is my legs are used to walking/running outside than on a treadmill. So, after a few more days I’m hoping they’ll be gone. It went well other than the shin splints. I didn’t get too out of breath, so CrossFit must be doing some good in that department!

I also decided to do my measurements again. The last time I did my measurements was September 30th. While I didn’t weigh in today, I will be weighing in again (officially) on Christmas Day. However the last time I weighed in (last week….I wasn’t supposed to…whoops!) I was at 225. So, how did it break down?

Dates: 9/30            12/22

Bust:   43            42.75

Waist:  39.5          39

Hips:   49.5          49

Calf:    17.5            19.5 (not sure about this one)

Thigh: 28.5            28.5

Bicep:  14.8            15.25

Neck:  14.5           14.25

I’m not too upset or surprised by these numbers except for the calf and bicep measurements. The calf could be simply that I wasn’t measuring in the same spot or it could be I’ve gained muscle from my strength training, but 2 inches is a lot and I thought they were looking smaller!! I’ve lost a bit in almost every other spot. So, that’s good news. My diet has not been good so I wasn’t expecting a big change. However, after the holidays I’m going 100% paleo which I’m hoping will help peel some of this fat off.

Here are some pictures…the left is from Sept and the right from tonight. There’s not any differences really because I’m roughly the same size, plus a couple of pounds.

Whatcha Think?

