Keeping My Fingers Crossed

Standard

I picked my Father up from the airport today then headed to the hospital to see Grandpa. The nurses had lessened his sedation so he’d be a little more alert once Dad got there. He looked so much better than I had expected. In fact, he was able to respond to our questions with a very small nod or shake and at one point he even had a slight smile when Dad was joking with him.

The Doctor said that he has a blood clot in his leg and lung but they’re hoping the blood thinner will allow the clots to stay where they are so the body can break them up. His kidneys are functioning better as well. After a little while they had to up his sedation again because his breathing was getting too labored.

The visit lifted my spirits and gives me a some hope that he may pull through this. The Doctor said he’s still critically ill, but he’s doing better than he was Tuesday when they said he wasn’t going to pull through. So, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that he keeps improving!

2 responses »

  1. I do hope he keeps improving. You are very lucky to have had your grandparents in your life for this long but it’s still hard losing family members. I lost all my grandparents by the time I was 18 and I wish it hadn’t been that way but such is life. Cherish them while we have them.

Whatcha Think?

