A New Word for a New Year

Standard

In 2009, I came across Ali Edwards “One Little Word” post and chose my word for 2010 to be Transformation. After getting feedback from everyone participating in 2010 she created this great word list. This year Ali’s word is “light, which is very similar to what I decided to choose!

Let’s recap a little bit first. Last year my watch word was supposed to be Transformation. Did I live up to that choice? Honestly, I don’t think I did it justice until about a month or two ago. Of course, 2010 found me signing up for a running club where I met some wonderful people and increased my speed enough for a PR in the 5K race! I participated in a new 5K race, Rise & Shine, and in two races I’ve done for the past two years; The Pear Run and Muddy Trails. Last, and my biggest transformation moments, I signed up for CrossFit (even though I didn’t want to) and I signed up for my first 1/2 marathon coming in March of 2011. Aaaannddd….I will be signing up for a Marathon to be run in 2012. WHO IS THIS LADY??! If you would have told me I would do all of this a couple of years ago I would have snorted coke out of my nose and laughed while I tried to choke down my pizza. While I gave up coke in April 2009, I was able to go the entire year of 2010 without having 1!! So, yes, now that I come to think of it. I do believe I’ve lived up to my watch word…my One Little Word.

By now I’m sure you’re wondering what my word for 2011 is. It’s Shine. I want 2011 to a be a year where I let my light shine through. What does that mean exactly? It’s quite simple…I want to be happier, become an athlete, and mold myself into the person I want to be…a person who can help brighten someone’s day when dark clouds are hanging overhead.


What about you? What word would you choose?

Whatcha Think?

