Ringing in the New Year

Standard

Today’s walk/run went well. It was 59 degrees outside, which is just about perfect in my opinion. I went to Tamarac Park, which is one of my favorite places to exercise since the loop is 5K and it’s not very crowded. I ended up going almost 3.4 miles in about 55. I alternated walking for 4 minutes and running for 1. I was trying my best to do Pose running…but could tell when I was getting out form. It seems that I go faster using that form that normal…which makes sense since I’m not putting the breaks on by heel striking.

This morning I tried to go by Luke’s Locker to look for some low profile shoes for CrossFit but they weren’t open. The only note on the door said “We will be closing at 3 today. Happy New Year!”. Would have been nice to have another that said “Closed New Year’s Day”. So, I went to Borders to pick up a book. They had The Paleo Diet for Athletes. I don’t consider myself an athlete, but this book is supposed to be the best for people doing Paleo while training for endurance performance. I also picked up the Calorie King updated book for carb counts and a new water bottle that was 75% off ($3!!).

After my walk I went to look for low profile shoes elsewhere. I didn’t have much luck but did find some decent New Balance shoes at DSW, so I picked them up. I probably should have gotten a 1/2 size larger, but my feet may just be a little swollen from today’s workout. We’ll see how they go. Plus…they’re rather cute!

I went grocery shopping and bought all of my food on the perimeter of the store. That’s the first time I’ve ever done that! Woot!! Eating fresh and clean! I was also able to find some Nitrate/Nitrite free sausage. Score! Since today is 1/1/11, that means I need to start unloading some of my clutter. So….what’s the first item to be removed from the premises?

That’s right….it’s not 1 but 3 things! A Lava Lamp I got at Christmas (white elephant exchange), a leopard looking vase, and a vase with a fake orchid and rocks. They will be taken to work to see if anyone wants to vases…if not, they’ll be tossed. Woohoo!!

Whatcha Think?

