Arms Are Overrated

Standard

We started the night off with as many burpees as we could do in a 20 second time limit, rest for 10 seconds and repeat 3 times. Then we did OH squats where we were supposed to up the weight after each round. We did 3 reps for 5 rounds. I misunderstood and did the same weight for the first 4 rounds, then added 10 lbs (total of 45#) to the last round. Which, I’m embarrassed to say was probably the most I would be able to do but I would have liked to have tried. My partner wasn’t really a partner so I didn’t have a spotter anyway.

The WOD was 5 rounds of 40 sole to sole sit ups and 20 push presses. I started off ok on the sit ups. I was able to touch the wall each time. Then, I thought I could do 45#s on the push presses, but after I got about 4-5 into my 20 when I realized that I was not going to be able to do that much for 5 rounds. So, Shane got the 35# bar for me. I was very slow….in fact after the first round of sit ups my abs were trashed and I could only do crunches. I was struggling to get through my last round of push presses (I had done 12) when Shane said I could drop down to the PVC if we needed to. I told him we’d see. I had already down graded from a 45# bar to a 35# bar so I was not going to go down to the PVC!! I got it done in 19:58. Right now, my arms are trashed. I can barely lift them up to fix my hair!!

I came across a quote today that I really like and think applies to CrossFit. “We must embrace pain and burn it as fuel for our journey.” – Unknown

2 responses »

Whatcha Think?

