Back At It!

Standard

Sorry to be MIA for the past 5 days. I spent some time visiting with family. It was good to see family from Florida who I hadn’t seen in a long time. Unfortunately, it was a sad occasion instead of something happy and celebratory. Ok…so on to today’s workout.

We did 4 rounds for time of: 10 Sumo Deadlift High Pulls, 20 Push ups, 30 GHB Back extensions, and a 200 meter run. If you’re like me you’re probably wondering what a GHB is. I believe it stands for Glutes, Hamstring, Back machine and looks like this:

The back extensions require you to go all the way down, then up as far as you can. The gym just got enough pieces of this equipment for several people to use, so of course…I’m sure we’ll be seeing more of it! I finished in 24:20. Shane said that our hamstrings and backs would make the run hard because they would be exhausted. We warmed up with 3 rounds of 10 squats and 10 sit-ups. Then we did 4 tabata rounds (instead of the normal 8 ) of pull-ups. I did the jumping pull-ups since I’m not able to do an actual pull-up yet. However, I think I got higher than usual! That was a good sign! I started the SDHP pretty strong (45# bar). One of my arms must be quite a bit stronger than the other because the bar would go a little slanted as I did the lifts. The push ups sucked…I don’t like push ups and don’t do them very well, but I did them. Then it was time to get on the GHB. I’m sure I looked quite ridiculous getting on the machine as I wasn’t very graceful! I didn’t much care at the time. It was quite tough as I did more rounds but the first round went pretty good. Then it was time to hop off and do my 200 M run. Shane was right. As soon as I stepped off my legs felt like jello. They were doing their own thing and didn’t care what I wanted them to do. I felt a little like Olive Oyl from the Popeye cartoons!

Source: Cartoongraphics.blogspot.com

After the second round Shane asked if I was doing ok, to which I shook my head yes. I couldn’t talk very well! He said good and patted my arm…which leads me to believe I must have looked like I was going to fall out or quit. One of these days I should probably video tape a session just to see what I look like from that perspective. Then again, maybe not! All in all, I was happy with how it went. There were only 3 of us there and the other lady, Jennifer, was done and gone before I finished my last round! Alen got a cramp in his leg (I think) so he didn’t do all of the rounds.

On other news, I am now wearing a size 16 jeans! They’re a little snug, but not uncomfortable. I am not including a picture yet, but will as soon as I can get a decent one! I also signed up for a 5K on Feb 5th. I’m hoping to beat my PR of 50:04.

How did everyone’s workouts go this weekend?!

2 responses »

  1. Dear Lord, that thing looks like a torture device! I sort of wish I had one. 🙂 You know I was having trouble with my sit-ups so I tried the sit-ups the way you suggested and I was still having tailbone issues (stupid old tailbone injury). So I’m going to get one of those inflatable balls which should take care of the issue and I’ll at least be able to do some crunchy type exercises. Congratulations on the new jeans size! Woohoo!!

Whatcha Think?

