It’s Always Better to Share the Burden

Standard

Tonight was a big class in CrossFit (8 people) so Shane teamed us up for tonight’s WOD. The warmup was agility work with the ladder again. One of these days I’ll get better at them!

The WOD was a 10 Burpees, 20 Wall Balls, and 30 GHB Sit Ups AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) for 20 minutes. I was teamed up with Courtni (Shane’s girlfriend) which was great. She’s really good at pushing without being pushy! Since we were in teams we could split up the work however we wanted. One person on the team could workout at a time, so you couldn’t do it together to speed up your time. Some of the teams split all the exercises up 50/50. Courtni and I decided to take turns where she did the burpees, I did the wall balls, and she did the sit ups on the first roung. Then I did the burpees, she did the wall balls, and I did the sit ups. We kept alternating it this way. It would seem we’d get more of a break to recover this way, but it was just hard as hell!

I’m not good at burpees. In fact, I had been just going to plank and coming up instead of going all the way day. Tonight, I actually did the full on burpees with dropping to the ground and coming back up. I did quite well for the first few, but it went downhill quickly. On my last round of burpees I wasn’t able to pull my feet under anymore, I had to drop to my knees and get up that way. Courtni was a beast. She knocked them out like they were nothing. 

The wall balls went well. I had to rest a little bit on my last round, but other than that I was able to push through for the most part. I think that was the first time I actually squatted to the ball every time. Most of the time when I get tired I go low, but may not hit the ball (as a marker you’ve gone low enough you put another medicine ball under you to tap with your tush as you squat). This time I felt the ball 95% of the time.

The sit ups were interesting. I think I was a little nervous that my weight would flip the machine over if I leaned back too far. I did the best I could with what I was comfortable with. However, when I go back to the gym I’m going to try it with going back further just to convince myself that it can handle my weight. 

We finished 5 rounds and got 2 burpees into our 6th round. We came in 3rd place. The two teams ahead of us finished 5 rounds and were into the sit ups of the 6th round. I think Courtni would have won if she would have had a different partner, but I was glad to get teamed up with her. She really pushed me to go past what I felt I could do. I’d pick her again…whether she’d want to pair up again, I don’t know!

Whatcha Think?

