Speedy, I Am Not

Standard

It’s Tuesday…that means I get my butt kicked in CrossFit. Our warm up was Handstand Tabatas. I did ok until round 7 and 8. My arms were shaking like crazy and I wasn’t able to hold it the entire time. However, it’s much better than I had done with the bars. I was actually up on the wall, although not very close. I need to work on that.

The WOD was a 400 Meter Run, 50 Squat Thrusters, 30 Pull Ups, 20 Kettlebell Swings, and another 400 Meter Run. It was one round for time. I am not a runner. My body just doesn’t move very fast. I was last…by quite a bit, which is embarrassing but I’ll get over it. I used the 35# bar for the Squat Thrusters. They were tough as you got into the higher numbers, but I think I could have done some with the 45# bar; However, I don’t know that I could have done all 50. Of course, the pull ups were jumping pull ups. They’ve been hurting my arches the past few times. I need to pay attention to how I’m landing. I’d like to use the band, but I don’t know that my grip is good enough for that yet. Shane told us to push ourselves with the weight of the dumbbell for the kettlebell swings. I was going to use a 25# bell since that’s what I used last time and it destroyed me. All of the 25# bells were taken though so I went with a #30 bell. I was very happy with how well the kettlebell swings went this time. Since Michelle gave me some pointers last time, I tried to follow her advice and it made a great deal of difference. I was able to do 10 in a row before resting a bit when last time I was struggling from the first one. Of course, the last run was useless. I was so much slower than the first one. My time was 14:50 which wasn’t that great, but I’ll take it. I feel like I pushed myself the best I could.

After the workout we did GHB Sit Up Tabatas as well. Those were tough and when I tried to get off the machine I could really feel it in the front of my hips. I’m sure I’ll be a little sore tomorrow!

Happy Midweek tomorrow!

Whatcha Think?

