She’s a Maniac

Standard

Today was a good day!! First, the exciting news. I finally did a Box Jump…in fact, I did 2! I know…I’m crazy like that. hahaha. I had the hardest time getting over the mental hurdle of jumping on the box. Mike was late picking me up today so I went back into the gym with the intention of working on my kipping, but my hands were tired from our Pull Up skill lesson before our work out so I decided to try the box jumps.

Alaina, Allen, and Shane kept telling me “you can do it…just jump” but my mind kept telling me “you can’t do this…you’re going to hit the top of the box and face plant.” Then Shane came over and explained that if you just stand and lift your leg up, that’s the height you should be able to jump for the box jumps. Then he made me jump beside the box and said I had plenty of room left and shouldn’t have any problem jumping on it. Finally, I decided I just needed to woman up and do it. I tried not to think about it too much and just jumped. I DID IT!! I did it again just to make sure it wasn’t a fluke. I am so stoked about that! So, from now on I will not be doing step ups but box jumps!

Now…let’s rewind to the beginning! We practiced the Pull Up for our skill lesson. We did something similar to the death by ten meter where we had to do 1 pull up the first minute then rested until the second minute where we did 2 pull ups…so on and so forth until you weren’t able to pull yourself up anymore. I was able to do 9 rounds (45 pull ups) before I had to go down to the ring rows. I finished rounds 10-15 on the rings.

The WOD was 4 rounds of Sit Ups and Squats. The first round was 50 of each, then 40, 30, and 20. We had these new pads that caused your back to have a bend in it so instead of your abs staying a bit tight when you hit the floor, you’re bending backward which opens the abs more and gives you more of a workout. The first round of sit ups went really well. I was able to power through them pretty quickly. The squats weren’t as fast. This was one of the first times I was able to do sit ups through all of the rounds instead of doing crunches to the end. Needless to say, I was happy with that. My quads were screaming from the squats. We had to squat to the medicine ball, which is lower than a 90 degree angle. I felt like I was getting low enough but some times I didn’t feel myself hit the medicine ball. I finished the WOD in 15:30.

It was a much better workout day for me than Tuesday was.

Whatcha Think?

