Enjoying Spring While I Can

Standard

Living in the south has some perks like not having to shovel snow or deal with sub teen temperatures. Unfortunately, that also means we only have Spring here about 2 weeks out of the year. The heat starts cranking up quickly and doesn’t die down until October, for the most part.

Saturday was supposed to be an 8 mile walk. I didn’t feel like going back to the park…I needed a change of scenery. So, I decided to go walk the waterway. It was about 70 degrees and the sun was shining bright!

A friend had told me she read thinner socks are better for keeping blisters away. So, I wore my thinnest running socks (wicking socks too) and set out. My right foot, which was the worst before, gave me no problems. There wasn’t even a hint of a blister coming back but my left foot started giving me fits about a mile into the walk. Since I have my 1/2 marathon coming up in 2 weeks, I didn’t want to risk getting a really nasty blister on my foot. So, my 8 mile walk became a 3.5 mile walk. I wasn’t real pleased with the mileage, but I’m not going to let it bother me. I just don’t think my left foot completely healed yet (the blister is about the size of a dollar coin) so it was quick to get puffy and sore. Next time I will make sure it’s completely healed before I head out on the trail. It’s already feeling better today (monday).

3 responses »

Whatcha Think?

