Like Breathing Through a Straw

Standard

Today was a good day overall…until CrossFit. My Tracheal Stenosis was acting up today. Unfortunately, it was quite inflamed/swollen so as we started pushing the cardio I was basically breathing through a small tube. I can’t explain exactly how it makes me feel. First, I get tired quickly from the lack of oxygen but worse than that is the embarrassment. For those people who don’t know about my condition I come across as being extremely out of shape with all of my huffing and puffing. I have to stop to try to catch my breath, which makes me feel like I’m slacking. I just don’t know what to do to make it better between dilations.

Our strength workout was 3 rounds of 20 GHB Sit Ups and 20 Back Extensions. I’m still not able to loosen up enough to extend back past a 90 degree angle on the sit ups. That’s something that I need to work on.

I’ve been doing the 100 push ups challenge the past couple of weeks and I think it’s helping. Part of our warm up was 10 push ups which went pretty good for me! Tomorrow is my last day for this week’s challenges. We also did some pull ups which I’m still struggling with, even with the black band. The last part of the warm up was 5 burpees. I was able to hop out and back in for all of them (both rounds) which thrilled me. I wasn’t able to do that many before without stepping back.

The WOD was 3 rounds for time of a 400 meter weighted (15#) run, 12 Front Squats (45#),12 Box Jumps, and 12 Sumo Deadlift High Pulls. That run did me in. It was all downhill from there. In fact, I just had to do a fast walk for the last 2 runs because I couldn’t catch my breath. The front squats weren’t too bad on my elbows. I have a hard time keeping my elbows up. Apparently, I was having a tough time getting low enough on my squats. I think that was because I was concentrating on my arms too much. The box jumps are getting better. I had a couple of mishaps where I didn’t make it to the top but hit the edge of the box. Thankfully I didn’t face plant! The sumo deadlift high pulls were ok. On my last round Shane was pushing me to finish my last 6 without putting the bar down. I really wanted to because I was really sucking air, but I pushed through and made it. I was whimpering at the end! Finished in 18:53. I crashed on the floor for a bit to catch my breath afterward. Tears were wanting to fall, but there was no point in it. My emotions were running high, I was torn down and embarrassed.

My throat started closing up like this last month and I was afraid my stenosis was getting worse again but then it went back to what it was like after my last dilation. I’m hoping this is the same thing, that my throat will open back up and I’ll be ok. Sunday is the big race, so I’m hoping I can breathe well then too.

Whatcha Think?

