New Strokes

Standard

Tuesday brought an interesting day, as far as the workouts go. Alaina told Michelle and I that our workout today was going to incorporate a lot of running, but thankfully that is tomorrow’s workout and not today’s!

We started practicing Clean Squats for our skill. We just used a 45# bar so it wasn’t for max weight. I kept hitting my collarbone. The problem must be my inability to get my elbows up high enough or fast enough to rest the bar on. That is definitely a weakness I need to work on.

The WOD was a little different in that it was all strength. We focused on the Front Squats with increasing weight. Each time we went down a round in reps we were supposed to go up with weight. Each round’s reps were repeated twice. Weight as follows: 2 rds of 8 (45#), 2 rds of 6 (55#), 2 rds of 4 (1 @ 65#, 1 @ 85#), 2 rds of 2 (95#), 2 rds of 1 (105#). Michelle maxed at 125#. Awesome. I had a tough time getting back up with the 105# so I called it good there. I regret that now. I think I may have been able to go up one more, and Michelle was trying to encourage me to try the weight but I talked myself out of it. Next time I’ll go until I have to dump the weight. I really enjoyed the workout. I was able to push the weight instead of just doing numerous reps. Some of the guys were doing up to 300#…crazy!

Since Shane didn’t feel like we got our money’s worth, he had us finished the day off with 35 Goblet Squats (25#), then 8 rounds of 10 GHB Sit Ups and 10 Knees to Elbows. I definitely think I got my money’s worth! As I type this I can already feel spots that are going to be sore starting tomorrow!

How was your workout?

Whatcha Think?

