Mixed Reaction

Standard

It’s Thursday!! WOOT! One more day until the weekend…can’t wait. Michelle and I were the only ones at the gym today for our WOD. It’s been a long time since I’ve had a class that small.

We did Deadlifts for our strength exercise instead of Box Jumps. My legs were still sore from the front squats, but I didn’t feel them once we got going. We did 8 rounds (2 x 6, 2 x 4, 2 x 2, 2 x 1) similar to how we did the front squats but instead of going up by 5# increments, I tried to go up as quickly as possible. The last time I maxed out at 155# but thought I could have probably done 165#. Well, today I reached a new PR of 200#!! That’s almost my body weight! My grip was tiring out. I need to do something to improve my grip. It would help greatly with the pull ups as well. I also got my first callous tear, courtesy of the diamond etching on the bar.

I have some of the black from the floor mats embedded in it at the moment. I washed it the best I could.

The WOD was a killer today. Of course, part of that could be because it was hot and muggy. I was dripping sweat through the whole thing. We had an AMRAP of 10 Push Presses (45#), 10 Burpees, and 10 Ring Push Ups. The push presses were ok on the first two rounds but I was struggling with that weight on the last 3. I guess I need to really jump it up better than I was. The burpees…yeah…those were just pitiful. I hate burpees, and while I can do more now than when I started I still can’t do very many without getting worn out. I had to do the step back and up instead of jumping, but they got done. Last was the ring push ups….OMG. Talk about hard. My stabilizing muscles must be incredibly weak because I couldn’t do them very well. My knees weren’t far enough back and I didn’t get far enough down. But, that’s what we’re working on. Eventually, they’ll get easier and in return I’ll be able to steady myself better for ring dips or anything else dealing with the rings.

All in all I did 4 complete rounds and up to 7 burpees on my 5th round. Not good…at all. I stopped too many times. I was completely wasted and didn’t know if I could keep going, but I did my best to push through. My obvious weakness is stopping too often to try to catch my breath. The goal is to keep moving and don’t stop. So…that’s what I will try my best to do from here on out.

This was my first week doing 3 days of CrossFit. I think it went pretty well, even if I got my ass handed to me 25 ways to Sunday. There is no doubt I’ll start seeing more improvement with the added day. My upper body is much weaker than the other girls, so it’s time to play catchup!

Whatcha Think?

