CrossFit Aliens

Standard

Third day in a row for CrossFit! Needless to say, I am worn out and ready for a couple of days relaxation. We were supposed to do Handstands for our skill today, but we didn’t do it for some reason. I think Shane was just too excited to get started that he forgot!

WOD:
10 Rounds for Time
4 Deadlifts (135#)
8 Pull Ups

Finished in 15:22

We were told to go heavy with the deadlifts so I thought “Ok, about 95#”. Then, Shane looked at Michelle and I and said “Since y’all both PRd over 200# on this, go with 135#.” Sure, no problem! Only, it was quite heavy…especially the last few rounds. I started off by doing the lift and dropping back down quickly. However, when it started getting harder to lift I decided to just drop the weights instead of trying to put the weights back down. No sense in hurting my back by having sloppy form lifting or putting the weight down.

Since I still can’t do a kipping pull up, I used the black band to do the pull up portion. My first two rounds went pretty good. The pulls were big and I was able to get my head above the bar. Unfortunately, my next few rounds had less than stellar pull ups! I was still moving, which was good, but not getting my head above the bar. Since my hands sweat horribly, I borrowed a pair of grips for the WOD. This was the first time I was able to do the whole WOD without stopping to chalk my hands.

I told Mike on the ride home that I wanted to order some grips for myself. My main reason is that I don’t want to waste time walking over to the chalk bucket during the workout. So, Mike says “Well, it could give you some time to get a breather!” To which, I replied “Yeah, but that wastes time and most workouts are for the fastest time possible. I don’t want to waste time unnecessarily.” Mike looked at me and asked “Who are you and what have you done with my wife?! It’s like you were abducted by CrossFit Aliens!” LOL….oh, my husband has such a way with words!

Thanks to CrossFit, I have an endless supply of bruises!

I also have more confidence (when I’m not getting waxed in a workout!), a healthier body, and definitely more strength! Sometimes I have to read back over the older workouts to see just how far I’ve come!

Whatcha Think?

