The Torture Continues

Standard

A: Skill work “Handstands” complete 4 sets of 30 second holds

B: AMRAP 20min of:
5 Deadlifts (95#)
10 Knees to Elbows
15 Wallball Shots (10#)

My legs were tired and sore from yesterday’s workout so I wasn’t thrilled to see more squats on the agenda for today! The skill work was tough but I was able to hold it the whole 30 seconds this time. It had been quite a long time since we’ve worked on handstands. I’m still 3 feet from the wall with my hands, but eventually I’ll get in closer. Once I’m up on the wall I can’t move my hands back. I’m doing good to stay put!

The WOD was making my quads scream. I ended up getting in 7 rounds. The last round I finished the 15th wallball shot with 1 second left on the clock. So, I was close to not completing it. I was hoping to get more and most everyone else had 9-11 rounds, but I was having some issues! The knees to elbows were tough because my grip kept failing. I’d get in three lifts and have to step back on the box to wipe my hands off and go again. I was even wearing my grips. Guess I was just too sweaty! I lost a lot of time on those. The wallballs were hard for me too. I made sure I was using a 10# ball this time because last time the 12# was a little too heavy and I want to move up from the 8# ball. While they weren’t pretty, I did better this time on my wallballs than last time. My form was better and my back wasn’t as sore. However, I got to where I did 5 and rested a bit, then did the next 5, and so on. I did take quite a few stops, but I didn’t wait as long. The goal is to push through without any breaks but sometimes I just have to catch my breath and get more oxygen in my lungs. 

I was going to go up to the gym tomorrow to work on my form but my legs are trashed. I think I’ll take a rest day so I’m somewhat better off on Thursday.

Whatcha Think?

