CrossFit Total

Standard

We started the day with skill work. I think I have the Kipping Pull Up move down, I just can’t seem to do one yet. Although…I got very close to doing one today! Tomorrow I will try again and see how it goes. If I can get the kipping pull up down using the green band, I’d be ecstatic. I want to get off the black band and on to the green one.

The WOD was all strength

Back Squat 8 x 5 x 5 x 3 x 3 x 1
Shoulder Press 8 x 5 x 5 x 3 x 3 x 1
Deadlift 8 x 5 x 5 x 3 x 3 x 1

The last round should have been what we could max out at. I increased two previous PRs and did one of the exercises for the first time.

Back Squat 155# PR up from 115#
Shoulder Press 75# (first max)
Deadlift 235# PR up from 205#

The back squats were interesting. I always thought I could do a decent amount on the back squat because I have decent legs, but apparently I can’t do as much as I thought. I’d like to do over 200#, but it’s something to work toward!

The shoulder press was hard. I have very little upper body strength and that’s all the shoulder press is. You can’t use your legs at all (like with the push press). It was very hard to keep from using my legs to throw the weight up there. I was pleased with 75#. It was only 10# less than Alaina and she is a hoss!

The deadlifts were fun. I always enjoy doing those. I knew my last PR was 205# so I was wanting to set a new record. I tried to do 235# more than once because I wasn’t exactly happy with the first one, but I wasn’t able to do it anymore. I think I could have done more if we didn’t have all those previous reps!!

Whatcha Think?

