Friggen Burpees…You Won…This Time

Standard

Oh….what a day, what a day. I knew today’s workout was going to hard when I heard the first thing we were doing was burpees. We did some new stretches today that was kind of nice. Then once the stretching was done we got ready to start the WOD. There were 11 people in class today, which is quite a few for our group. They’re growing!

WOD:
AMRAP 15 Mins
10 Burpees
20 Med Ball Cleans (12#)
200 Meter Run
Finished 2 rounds and up to 17 cleans in 3rd round

My first round of burpees were pretty strong. The med ball cleans were a little awkward to get a rhythm with at first, but into the second round it got a little easier. My second round of burpees weren’t as good as the first. While I’m still not that good at them, I’m slowly getting better the more we do them. I was trying to get my 20 cleans in before time ran out, but I didn’t quite make it. I got to 17…oh well. It was worth a try! After the workout those who wanted to do the strength could do it. I wasn’t going to do it because I had a splitting headache, but I would have been very upset with myself if I hadn’t done it.

Strength:
Push Press
5 (45#) x 5 (55#) x 5 (65#) x 5 (75#) x 5 (85#)

We ended up doing the max of 85#. I had to sit the bar down on the 4th and 5th rep, but I got all 5 done! Tomorrow I’ll have some nice bruising on my neck/collar bones from dropping the bar to heavily on there. Oh well, nothing new there either! After the second round of push presses my headache went away. Woohoo! There were two small guys there (freshmen or sophomores in high school) that I overheard ask Shane “How are they doing that much weight?!” referring to our group of girls. I glanced over and they had a 5# weight and 2.5# weight on each side. Shane told them we had been doing for several months, which seemed to make them feel better. I felt a little bad for them because I know how it feels! However, these are small boys that may not have even hit puberty yet!! Just give it a year and they’ll be lifting a lot more than 85#!!

Whatcha Think?

