Running out of Gas

Standard

AMRAP 15 Mins:
6 Sumo Deadlift High Pulls (65#)
9 Kettlebell Swings (35#)
12 Box Jumps (small box)

Finished 5 rounds and up to 1 kettlebell swing into the 6th round.

I crashed today. Yep…I was gassed…wiped out…whipped…fizzled…plum tuckered out!

The Sumo Deadlifts went pretty good. My bar would get a little wobbly so when I touched down sometimes one side would hit before the other, but they went alright. The most weight I’ve used for SDHP in the past was 45#. I used 65# today.

The Kettlebell Swings were tough for me today. I think that’s because I hadn’t done them in a while. Right now my lower back is tired, which means my form was probably off as I got into the workout. Gotta try to pay closer attention to that.

After 3 rounds I started doing step ups instead of box jumps just so I’d keep moving. I was wasting too much time trying to catch my breath to do the box jumps. It was pathetic! But, this is my first week into changing my diet again and it was hot, hot, hot. I’m hoping next week will show an improvement, if in fact it is my diet change that was the factor.

Our skill work came after the WOD since Doyle had his baby there and was trying to get a quick workout in. We worked on our Muscle Ups. It had been a while since I’ve done those, but it went pretty well. It took a little bit to get back into the grove of them, but I think I have it down pretty well. Now, the problem is doing the press up after you get into position! I’ve got a long way to go to even dream of doing an actual muscle up!

Today was day 9 of my 30 day Paleo challenge. 21 days to go! I weighed myself today and was back in the 190’s. So, we’ll see if I can get down to the low 90’s at the end of this challenge!

Whatcha Think?

