Marathon Training

Standard

Originally, I wasn’t going to start my marathon training until August 14th; However, Clara and Kelly started training for their 1/2 marathons on June25th and invited me to join them. We’re meeting at 7AM…yes, that’s 7 in the morning on a Saturday. I am not a morning person, but if you don’t go that early you risk melting to death!

Kelly, Clara and Me

 

I wasn’t able to make the first workout day, but I made it this past Saturday. We met up at Tamarac Park and put in a 5K. I ended up with 52 minutes, which wasn’t bad considering I wasn’t trying to go fast. My PR for a 5K is 50 minutes, so I think I can beat that now! The run got tough as the miles added up. It has been quite a while since I’ve walked/run more than a mile. My left hip was griping at me all day Sunday. That’s alright…I’ll work through the kinks! We’re meeting up again this Saturday, maybe I’ll try to go a little faster this time!

I’m excited to do my Marathon on Jan 1, but I’m also extremely nervous. After my 1/2 my legs were dead. I don’t know that I could have gone another 13.1 miles. But, I’m going into this with the mindset that I have plenty of time to do the miles (about 9 hours) so if I have to crawl across the finish line, so be it! Hopefully, I won’t chicken out and drop it down to a half.

Whatcha Think?

