What a Great Weekend!

Standard

This Saturday morning I drug my butt out of bed at 6AM to get ready to meet the girls for a run. Kelly was having a migraine so she wasn’t able to make it. Clara was competing in a Sprint Tri on Sunday so she was going to ride her bike instead of run. It was very tempting to tell Clara that I was just going to stay home (and sleep!) but I made myself go.

We met up at Falconwing park where I followed the green belt trails for what I thought was a 4 mile trek. Turns out, the trail was only 3 miles. However, it was extremely hilly! This caused me to go a bit slower than usual. I enjoyed the fact that the whole run was almost covered in shade. So, while it was still hot it wasn’t too bad.

Clara got several miles in on her bike. We both were a bit sweaty! I headed to CrossFit Point Break, where Clara currently goes, for a free foam rolling presentation by one of the guys from Airrosti. There were quite a few people there. My first impression was “Wow”. Everything was so neatly organized and the layout was great. The Owner/Coach was pretty “wow” too! Just think, extremely tan and bright blue eyes! Justin was extremely knowledgeable and kind. He took time after the presentation to talk to me a bit, which I appreciated. I also met Blake, another CFPB coach. While I didn’t get to talk with him too much, he seemed like a pretty cool guy too. I really enjoyed the box and the people. Maybe I’ll go by one day when they’re having an open WOD to check it out further. OH…they also have Harley, an adorable French Bulldog (in picture below).

Mike and I went out to dinner Saturday about 4:30 at Goose’s Acre on the Woodlands’ Waterway. We ended up walking a little over a mile after dinner to let our food digest some. So, while I didn’t get 4 miles in that morning I did get over 4 for the entire day. That has to count for something! When we got home I did a little digging to see if I could somehow upload my Garmin run data into my Nike+ profile. I wanted to put all of my mileage in one spot, plus I like Nike’s site. Fortunately, I came across this post that allows you to do just that! So, after spending quite a bit of time moving entries over, I have most of my mileage accounted for! There are a few runs that I didn’t have recorded because I forgot my Garmin, but hey…we can all be perfect! I do have my 1/2 marathon practice run and my actual Angie’s Half Crazy 1/2 Marathon in there now.

Today, I went by Fleet Feet in Spring and picked up a little somethin’ somethin’. I originally was going to get the Nike GPS Sportwatch, but based on some of the reviews I’ve read I decided to go with the Garmin 610. After all, I can still upload my runs into Nike!

Can’t wait to see how it does on the road this next Saturday. I had been using a Nike GPS app on my phone, but I broke my previous phone by using it on my workouts…so now I’ll just use this and my nano (for music).

How was your weekend?!

Whatcha Think?

