Barefootin’ It

Standard

I got my 4 miles in yesterday. In fact, I got 4.5 miles in. I walked .25 miles barefoot just to see what it feels like. I have to say that I think I stomp more when I’m barefoot. Not exactly sure how that works since barefoot walking is supposed to make your form more correct. I had thought about getting the Vibram shoes, but I’m not sure if I want to spend the money on that right now.

Since it was a Tuesday and a little after 7  (cst) I decided to watch the Biggest Loser while I worked out. A little background: I used to watch the BL every season. I missed the first season, but watched all of them after that. There on 9 or 10 now…I’ve lost count. In any case, I used to really enjoy the show. It was about learning to care for your body and get healthy. Then, slowly, it started changing so it was more drama than anything else. *cough…heba…cough* I am NOT a person that deals well with drama. I would prefer not to encounter it unless absolutely necessary. That was strike 1.

Then, they started doing the “Never before seen in BL history” every other episode. You’re right…I’ve never seen someone have to ride 26 miles on a stationary bike the 1st day they’re at the ranch. BUT…is that really healthy? These people have just signed up to go to the ranch and it’s obvious they haven’t worked out in a while and you’re going to throw them out there to ride 26 miles? Granted…I think it was 26 for the pair, so 13 each, but that’s still a huge shock for those bodies. Strike 2.

The last strike was when I found myself fast forwarding through most of the show on Tivo. I watched maybe 30 minutes of a 2 hour show. Why? Because I didn’t want to see the drama and they weren’t really giving the watchers good tips anymore. You used to be able to watch the trainers in the gym coach the players and pick up tips you could use. Not anymore…now all you see is Jillian yelling “ARE YOU GOING TO QUIT?” or Bob trying to break someone’s barriers down. Not saying that doesn’t help some people, but I’d rather see what types of workouts they’re doing. Strike 3…not watching it this season.

So…last night’s show didn’t win me back. It’s still drama and yelling and not much substance. I still love seeing people lose weight…but I don’t think it’s necessarily healthy to lose it as quickly as they do. But, they have experts around to make those calls. I can honestly say I don’t miss it. I will probably record the finale just to see the overall outcome…afterall, I love before and after shots.

Tonight I’m going to try to do 2 miles in 30 minutes. My miles lately have been over 15 minutes…so I want to work on getting that down. That way I don’t have to spend over an hour getting 4 miles in!

Stay Healthy!

One response »

  1. I hate that kind of drama. I mean, if I want drama, I’ll watch a movie or something. I had never seen that show until I watched a couple of episodes last season, then recently someone was talking about this season with pretty much the same complaints you just listed. I don’t care what kind of experts they’re using, it still isn’t healthy to lose that much weight that quickly. Ugh. Don’t get me started. Anyway, I never watched anymore of the show and I don’t want to if it’s like that. Too bad they changed it, probably to keep ratings up. Meh.

Whatcha Think?